Has anyone with multiple sites in their Rhythmyx 6.5.2 system developed a method to control the ability of users to move content items, as a linked copies, from one site to another?
Our concern is that users will create an item in a site that is published on our intranet, submit it through its workflow to get it approved by editors and moved to a public state, then they will be able to drag-and-drop it to another site that is published to the whole world wide web. Experimenting with this has revealed that the linked copy retains the public state of the original, so will be published without approval. The item may not be suitable, or even legally allowable, to be viewed external to our organisation.
It is not that we want to block all sharing of content between sites. Quite the reverse - a big part of raison d’etre for using any CMS is to allow content reuse. We could disable the menu option via the UI Elements Design tab, but that would prevent any use of linked copies, even between folders within the same site.
Ideally we would want those linked copies to be reassigned to a draft state when the new folder they are copied to is in a different site than the folder of the original copy. But any alternative or partial solutions would be welcome.