Adding variable fields to notification subject lines?

I’m trying to figure out how to add variable fields (e.g. content id or title) to the subject line of the workflow notifications. I know that the macro $wfcomment will add the workflow comments but I’m looking to add content specific data. It seems like this should be easy to do, but I am VERY new to Rhythmyx (and CMS systems in general). :confused:

Any ideas?

You can include any field from the content item in a notification using the format “${fieldname}”. System fields, shared and local fields known to be in the item can be used. If a field is not found, the variable is removed and nothing is substitued in it’s place. For example you could add the following to the body section of your notification to have the item’s title and content id displayed in the notification:
The item with the title ${sys_title} and the content id
${sys_contentid} is now ready for review

Haven’t tested it putting it in the subject line though…

Thanks for your reply…I tried that earlier and it didn’t work for me.

The only field I could get this to work on is the wfcomment field. When I try to include any other field, the literal (e.g. $sys_contentid or $sys_title) shows in the email body.

igorh,
Does this work for you using different fields?
What RX version are you running?

We’re currently on 6.1.
I’ve only needed the sys_contentid and the sys_title and they worked so I didn’t experiment any further, but my guess I would be able to access all available fields for that content item…

[QUOTE=nmurphy;446]

The only field I could get this to work on is the wfcomment field. When I try to include any other field, the literal (e.g. $sys_contentid or $sys_title) shows in the email body.[/QUOTE]

I get the same issue (Rx 6.1). If I add ${sys_contentid} I get an error when I submit, remove the {} and it just printed the literal.