ColdFusion + Rhythmyx = oops

I loaded ColdFusion on the same server that was running Rhythmyx. ColdFusion worked fine but something interfered with Rhythmyx… (For those who don’t know, ColdFusion is a hybrid web/application server with a Java back-end that works cooperatively with IIS.

I tried uninstalling coldfusion and even restored the Rhythmyx folder from backups… but it still won’t start. I am very new to Rhythmyx and know nothing about JBoss…

I’m assuming “run.bat” is supposed to start the server… it errors out Error: could not open ‘C:\Rhythmyx\JRE\lib\i386\jvm.cfg’ In fact, all of the bat files error out that way. I checked the backup from two days ago when Rhythmyx was still working and that file didn’t exist even at that time.

The Percussion Rhythmyx service is set to automatic but is not running when the computer boots to windows. I can start the service, but it doesn’t seem to make a difference.

Should I reinstall, or is there a simpler way to get the server going again?

Hi Brien

What happens when you run the RhythmyxServer.exe from the root Rhythmyx folder?

This should start Rhythmyx in console mode so you can see any errors.

From looking at the run.bat file it just seems to start JBOSS.

Cheers
James

Since its in DOS, I was hoping to pipe the output to a file… but RhythmyxServer.exe pops open a new window even when I run it from the command line.
I see a java error in the middle of it all and managed to pause the screen long enough to see part of the message…

It’s saying it is unable to contact the database because the rxAdmin password has “expired”. Maybe this had nothing to do with coldfusion after all (that would be a relief).

Our installation of Rhythmyx was set up and configured by a vendor. (I inherited it after the budget for training and assistance ran out) . Is there a default rxAdmin password? I’m digging around now for the documentation.

Oh – and where is the Db connection password defined in Rhythmyx?

Oh for cryin’ out loud…