Next Step(s)?

I’m really new to Percussion. I would like to clone one of our dev sites to my local machine so that I can play around with it. What do I need to do to accomplish that? Thanks for any help that anyone can give me.

[ol]
[li]Shutdown Percussion on source machine[/li][li]Copy Percussion datasource (SQL Server or Oracle) to your local datasource[/li][li]Copy Percussion from the source file system to your local machine[/li][li]Startup Percussion on source machine[/li][li]Update the following files to reference your local database:[/li][ul]
[li]/path/to/Rhythmyx/AppServer/server/rx/deploy/rx-ds.xml[/li][li]/path/to/Rhythmyx/AppServer/server/rx/deploy/rxapp.ear/rxapp.war/WEB-INF/config/spring/install-beans.xml[/li][/ul]

li Update the following files to configure how you will authenticate within Percussion (LDAP, Active Directory, Backend Table [default]):[/li][ul]
[li]/path/to/Rhythmyx/AppServer/server/rx/conf/login-config.xml[/li][/ul]

li Update the server configuration file at /path/to/Rhythmyx/AppServer/server/rx/deploy/jboss-web.deployer/server.xml[/li][li]Startup Percussion on local machine[/li][li]Monitor /path/to/Rhythmyx/AppServer/server/rx/log/server.log[/li][/ol]

Percussion relies on /path/to/Rhythmyx/AppServer/server/rx/deploy/rx-ds.xml to establish the connections to the database; therefore, if you have a copy of your Percussion instance and a copy of your Percussion database, you can proceed with setting up a local copy.

PLEASE NOTE: You may want to consult with Technical Support on licensing though.

Let me know if I missed any steps.

I might be a little too cavalier about it, but rather than hand editing all those files, I simply start the Percussion service on the new server, and use the RhythmyxServerAdministrator tool to change the database configuration (to point to the newly replicated database).